Members | Sign In
All Forums > Hardware and LBE construction

New to DMX but want to give it a try..

posted Jan 22, 2013 20:30:11 by DeaneGeiken
So I am new to this whole DMX thing but really want to incorporate it into our crew flights when we play. I have read most of the topics in this forum but can someone (in layman's terms) point out what equipment one would need to get started and how it all hooks to the Artemis game for use? Many thanks!
Commander -TSN Belisarius (BS 108)
page   1 2 3 4 5 next last
120 replies
Chalta said Jan 22, 2013 22:09:46
For a plug and play solution, see this thread.

Minimally, you need a USB-DMX interface to convert the signal from the PC, some DMX cabling and some devices to control.

If you're stateside, there are cheaper options with an element of DIY.

In Layman's terms:

DMX is a theatrical standard for controlling lights, and other theatrical electrics. However, as DMX does not have error checking, it is never used for anything that is life-critical or potentially dangerous. (e.g. pyrotechnics or automated rigging)

A DMX installation consists of a controller device, cables and controlled devices (e.g. dimmers, intelligent lights, foggers, hazers, lasers, etc). Most professional, permanent DMX installations use 5-pin DMX. The DJ market uses a combination of 3-pin and 5-pin DMX. Holiday lighting hobbyists tend to use 3-pin. Artemis uses exclusively three-pin DMX.

While most professional DMX installations use dedicated hardware controllers, Artemis outputs the DMX signal via a PC's USB port - much more practical for this kind of application. You will need a USB-DMX converter to convert the signal to one that is DMX-compatible.