Members | Sign In
All Forums > Mission Scripting

Dialogue trees.

posted Jun 01, 2013 00:26:07 by Billy R
Has anyone tried a dialogue tree? Has anyone been successful? I've always wanted to make a mission in which the comms station played an important part. Something to the effect of an alien species that won't be hostile if you can figure out their language and speak to them intelligibly.

But I'm no programmer, I don't even play one on tv. And every time I've tried something like this, it's been a complete clusterf... hug? Has anyone with more talent in this area had any more luck than I have?
page   1
4 replies
xavierwise.tsn said Jun 01, 2013 11:04:04
It is probably possible, although without giving it a go, I am not certain. Using key strokes from Comms and variables, you sould be able to create a dialogue tree that simulates some kind of two way conversation. All the responses from comms wold have to be predefined, but could range from simple "hit Y to say Yes, hit N to say No" to "x = are you kidding?!, z = I think that is a great plan, c = let me think it over for a while" The idea does remind me of some games like that, usually mystery games, where you have to ask the right questions to get the information. To be able to script one of these in Artemis, you would first need a very clear and detailed plan of the dialogue tree. It would also take a lot of scripting code I imagine.