Members | Sign In
All Forums > Help

Alternative to the Captain's Map

posted Jun 29, 2013 17:37:22 by joecooperstein
Hola, folks. I'm not certain if this is the right subforum for this, so apologies in advance if I've goofed.

My buddies and I started playing Artemis about a month ago and we are totally in love with it. One night, we found ourselves with more computers than we needed and our captain ended up with his own Captain's Map. It's a pretty wicked tool, but we felt like it cut out virtually everything our lovely science officer was contributing - with the exception of scanning, the Map fulfills every function of science (target coordinates, distance, shield strength). So we haven't used it since then, but I'm still fond of the idea of the captain having a datapad.

So I made one. In my experience, I've found it hard to keep in mind the nuances of the orientation circle, and so I'm either peering over my helmsman's shoulder or saying vague things like "uh, go left!" I've also underutilized my engineer because I can't keep track of what subsystems exist. So I've made what I'm calling the Captain's Key, which contains all of that information, as well as the technical name of each missile type (not as a practicality, but for roleplaying) and a nifty schematic of the ship. I've thought about possibly including the location of each major subsystem so that the captain can tell at a glance of the status screen what functions are impaired, but that might take something away from the engineer, so I haven't settled for sure. Obviously, the schematic is the light cruiser, but I'm planning on making one for each ship. The image is 100% screen resolution of iPad 1 and 2.

I welcome criticism, and if any of you veterans have suggestions for other items to include on the Key, please feel free to share.

page   1
13 replies
ArtemusCousland said Jun 29, 2013 19:19:49