Members | Sign In
All Forums > Development

Wave Motion Gun

posted Jul 22, 2013 04:17:43 by EM3.Kotori87
Although I am quite new to Artemis SBS, one of the first things I noticed was how similar the game is to Star Blazers, aka Space Battleship Yamato. Obviously, of course, since both drew at least some inspiration from the original Star Trek. However, there is one important element from many fantasy/Scifi universes that Artemis is missing. Death Star Superlaser, spinal-mount Mass Driver, Wave Motion Gun... whatever you call it, a centerline-mounted big ****ing gun has been a staple of science fiction since the 1970's. I would love to see some kind of centerline-mounted superweapon incorporated into the game at some point in the future.

For those of you who don't know what the Wave Motion Gun or the Space Battleship Yamato is, here they are:
Wave Motion Gun:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ty-1zWsXFNs
Space Battleship Yamato (battle of Pluto):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUMvk5Dr0wY
There are 101 types of people: those who understand binary, those who don't, and those who just can't count...
page   1
6 replies
stonefish said Jul 22, 2013 10:42:38
Please describe how you'd implement the Wave Motion Gun in Artemis. Would it instantly destroy every object on the map, or just all your enemies?
MarkBell said Jul 22, 2013 11:43:46
If you're going for a long range, narrow arc, long recharge blaster, you can code that into the vessel data file right now. It'd be a regular beam, only hitting one ship, but make it as big as you like.

Scout's single beam:
<beam_port x="0" y="17.8" z="289.0" damage="12" arcwidth="0.4" cycletime="6.0" range="1000" />

Wave Motion Scout beam:
<beam_port x="0" y="17.8" z="289.0" damage="1500" arcwidth="0.1" cycletime="45.0" range="4000" />

One of the mods I've got cooking has this as a main ship:
[Last edited Jul 22, 2013 11:48:04]
Mike_Substelny said Jul 22, 2013 16:47:59